Health Insurance Open Enrollment - Now’s the time to get covered.

Open Enrollment graphic


Open enrollment for health coverage in 2018 is happening now and will end on January 31, 2018.

Current members can renew or change their health plans until Jan. 31.

Medi-Cal and Covered California use the same application. When you apply, depending on factors such as your family size, income and citizenship or immigration status, you will find out whether you qualify for:

  • A Covered California health plan, with or without financial assistance.
  • Medi-Cal.
  • County Children’s Health Initiative Program.
  • Medi-Cal Access Program for pregnant women.


Mammoth Times Article 
Health Care sign ups and Mono County DSS assistance offered.

Premium Assistance

Premium assistance to help reduce the cost of health care is available to individuals and families who enroll in a Covered California health insurance plan and meet certain income requirements.

Even though premium assistance is a tax credit, it is available to eligible consumers whether or not they have filed taxes for the previous year. However, to receive it, individuals must confirm that they will file taxes for the year that they will be enrolled in a Covered California plan and will be receiving the premium assistance. It is only available for health plans purchased through Covered California or other federally operated or state-operated marketplaces. To be eligible for premium assistance, an individual must:

Be a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national or a lawfully present immigrant buying coverage through Covered California.
Have an annual household income between 138 percent and 400 percent* of the federal poverty level (FPL). Estimate your FPL here.  
Not be eligible for other public health coverage** — including full-scope Medi-Cal, premium-free Medicare Part A or military coverage.
Not have access to affordable, minimum-value health insurance through an employer.*** 

Cost-Sharing Reductions

Cost-sharing reductions are subsidies that lower a consumer’ out-of-pocket costs, including their copayments, coinsurance, deductibles and out-of-pocket maximum. These are the costs an individual has to pay when they get health care. Individuals who are eligible for premium assistance and have an annual household income of up to 250 percent of the FPL can qualify for cost-sharing reductions.


Tax Penalty Details and Exemptions

Most people are now required to have “minimum essential coverage” through an employer, a government health program or a health plan they purchase themselves. Those who do not have health insurance will pay a tax penalty. Some people qualify for an exemption from this requirement, and they do not have to obtain health insurance or pay a tax penalty.

When consumers file their tax return, they will have to enter information about their coverage (or their exemption) on their tax return. If consumers do not maintain minimum essential coverage during the year and do not qualify for an exemption, they will pay a tax penalty to the Internal Revenue Service on their tax return for that year.

The annual penalty is the greater of:

$695 for each adult and $347.50 for each child, up to $2,085 per family.
2.5 percent of the tax filer’s annual household income minus the federal tax filing threshold.

Exemptions from the Tax Penalty Click Here