ESAAA - Eastern Sierra Area Agency on Aging


The California Department of Aging (CDA) administers programs that serve older adults, adults with disabilities, family caregivers, and residents in long-term care facilities throughout the State.  The Department administers funds allocated under the federal Older Americans Act and the Older Californians Act. 

CDA contracts with the network of Area Agencies on Aging, who directly manage a wide array of federal and state-funded services that help older adults to live as independently as possible in the community; promote healthy aging and community involvement; and assist family members in their vital care giving role.  The Area Agency on Aging in our region is ESAAA, which encompasses both Inyo and Mono counties.  ESAAA is governed by the Inyo County Board of Supervisors (BOS), who has designated the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to administer the ESAAA services.  HHS oversees a contract with the County of Mono through which Mono County employees serve Mono County seniors.  In Inyo County, HHS staff directly serve Inyo County seniors. 

Visit the ESAAA site here!

ESAAA Advisory Council - Eastern Sierra Area Agency on Aging

Recruitment for Vacancy ESAAA Advisory Council

ESAAA is currently recruiting to fill Advisory Council Member vacancies on the ESAAA Advisory
Council. The council is actively seeking participation from Mono and Inyo County residents. The Advisory Committee provides advice and consultation on issues affecting the provision of services provided locally to older individuals.

Meetings are held quarterly, three of which are held in locations throughout Inyo County and
one in Mono County. Participation via video conferencing can be arranged.
If you are interested in becoming a member, please complete a Letter of Interest form, and fax
to Melissa Witting 760-873-6505 (fax). Members may not be employed by an entity
currently in a subcontracting relationship with ESAAA (this includes Mono County
employees). For more information, please contact Melissa Witting, Inyo Health and Human
Services (760) 873-3305.

The ESAAA Advisory Council is comprised of nine (9) total members from the service area of Inyo
and Mono Counties. At least 50% of the appointed members shall be aged 60 or above, including
minority individuals and older individuals residing in rural areas. Cross-generational
representation also is encouraged!

Our next ESAAA Advisory Council meeting is confirmed for 10 a.m. on Friday, January 19, 2024.  It will be held via in person at various on-site locations,  telephone and Zoom.  If you have any questions feel free to call 760-873-3305. (Click here for more information)