Concealed Weapons Permits (CCW)


CALL 760-932-7549, OPT 5


You can complete and submit your renewal application by clicking here. This will take you to our new CCW site.

The Mono County Sheriff’s Office has recently fielded questions on why we have changed our policy regarding the issuance of Concealed Carry Weapons permits.  The Mono County Sheriff’s Office is merely following the law.  We have had several permit holders submit renewal applications that do not meet the statutory requirement of Mono County residency.  In fact, some of these applicants have been residents of other counties and states.  The Penal Code precludes the issuance of a permit under these circumstances.  Proof of residency can be established by providing a valid California driver's license or voter registration. The Mono County Sheriff’s Office does require that applicants or permit holders demonstrate, to a recognized range master. Still, the firearms instructor must be certified through DOJ, the curriculum must follow DOJ guidelines,  and the ability to safely manipulate and fire each weapon listed on the application or authorized by the permit.  However, permits have been denied for failure to meet the statutory requirements of California Law.  The Mono County Sheriff’s Office encourages residents to contact the Office with questions or concerns at:

Mono County Sheriff's Office

Sarah Roberts

Administrative Service Specialist



Our CCW policies and procedures have changed to facilitate the timeliest and most efficient way to issue CCW permits while managing Sheriff’s Office resources.

California Law grants the Sheriff of a county the ability to issue a CCW license. Before the issuance of a CCW license, California state statutes require proof of the following:

207.3   QUALIFIED APPLICANTS In order to qualify for a license to carry a firearm, the applicant must:

(a) Be deemed not to be a disqualified person as provided in Penal Code § 26202.

(b)Be deemed not to be prohibited by state or federal law from possessing, receiving, owning, or purchasing a firearm (Penal Code§26185; Penal Code § 26195).

(c) Be a resident of the County of Mono (Penal Code § 26150; Penal Code § 26155).

(d)Be at least 21, and present clear evidence of identity and age as defined in Penal Code § 16400 (Penal Code § 26150; Penal Code § 26155).

(e)Fully complete the California Department of Justice (DOJ) application (Penal Code § 26175).

(f)Submit fingerprints and a complete criminal background check (Penal Code § 26185).

(g)Pay all associated application fees (Penal Code § 26190). 

(h)Be the recorded owner of the firearm, with the California DOJ, for which the license will be issued, as determined by the Mono County Sheriff's Department (Penal Code § 26162). 

(i)Be free from any psychological conditions that might make the applicant unsuitable for carrying a firearm (Penal Code § 26190).

(j)Complete the required training described in Penal Code § 26165.

(All requirements are listed in the policy below)

If you are a resident of Mammoth Lakes, you will need to apply to the Mammoth Lakes Police Department for a CCW permit. (MLPD CCW page)



Current fee's: Updated as of  12/05/2023

  • Initial Permit: $193.00 
    • Non-refundable $20 fee + $93 for Live Scan up front
    • $80 upon issuance of the license
  • Renewal Permit: $77.00
    • $25 fee + $52 DOJ
  • Modification of Permit or Duplicate: $15.00



If you are not a Mono County Resident but can submit proof that you work or conduct significant business within Mono County, the Sheriff has the discretion to issue you a license that is valid for no more than ninety (90) days and is only valid in Mono County. There are additional conditions and restrictions to this type of license.


Information on the amendment to permit process and all forms

Information on the renewal permit process

Information on the initial permit process and all forms