MSR and SOI Reports

Municipal Service Reviews 

The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 (CKH) requires Local Agency Formation Commissions (LAFCOs) to conduct comprehensive reviews of all municipal services in each county in California and to periodically update that information. The purpose of the Municipal Service Reviews (MSR) is to gather detailed information on public service capacities and issues.

Relationship Between Municipal Service Reviews and Spheres of Influence

The CKH requires LAFCOs to develop and determine the Sphere of Influence (SOI) for each applicable local governmental agency that provides services or facilities related to development. Government Code Section 56076 defines a SOI as “a plan for the probable physical boundaries and service area of a local agency.” MSRs must be completed prior to the establishment or update of SOIs (§56430(a)). SOIs must be reviewed and updated as necessary, but not less than once every five years (§56425).

The information and determinations contained in an MSR are intended to guide and inform SOI decisions. Service reviews enable LAFCO to determine SOI boundaries and to establish the most efficient service provider for areas needing new service. They also function as the basis for other government reorganizations. Section 56430, as noted above, states that LAFCO can conduct these reviews “before, in conjunction with, but no later than the time it is considering an action to establish a SOI.”

2023-2025 Update Process and Approach

The last comprehensive update of the MSRs & SOIs for all Special Districts in Mono County occurred in 2009. Due to the length of time between updates, LAFCO is using a unique approach to update the MSRs and SOIs of sixteen Special Districts in unincorporated Mono County (list below).

  1. Antelope Valley Fire Protection District
  2. Birchim Community Services District
  3. Bridgeport Fire Protection District
  4. Bridgeport Public Utility District
  5. Chalfant Valley Fire/Community Services District
  6. Hilton Creek Community Services District
  7. June Lake Fire Protection District
  8. June Lake Public Utility District
  9. Lee Vining Fire Protection District
  10. Lee Vining Public Utility District
  11. Long Valley Fire Protection District
  12. Mono City Fire Protection District
  13. Paradise Fire Protection District
  14. Wheeler Crest Community Services District
  15. Wheeler Crest Fire Protection District
  16. White Mountain Fire Protection District

This work was partially funded by a California Development Block Grant (CDBG) awarded to the County by the California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD) in February 2021. Resource Concepts, Inc. (RCI) was awarded the contract for this work through an RFP process approved by the Board of Supervisors on May 10, 2022. The intent of this three-phase project was to better understand the exact opportunities and limitations of special districts, as these limitations are a potential barrier to housing production in unincorporated Mono County. The final CIP deliverable will be finalized in May 2024 and will go to the Board of Supervisors in June 2024 for review and potential approval. The deadline for grant funds to be expended is June 16, 2024.

  • Phase One conducted extensive data gathering from Districts and summarize (in table form) the updates necessary for 2023/2024 Reports for sixteen Special Districts. Implementing the revisions was not part of RCI’s scope of work so updates were made by LAFCO staff.
  • Phase Two included a needs assessment for the key sites (identified in the Mono County Housing Element) and communities within each special district. RCI performed a more thorough investigation of infrastructure barriers and opportunities within the communities of Bridgeport, Crowley Lake, June Lake, and Lee Vining, and the key sites identified in the Housing Element.
  • Phase Three included developing a key sites Capacity Improvement Plan (CIP) with recommendations for Bridgeport, Crowley Lake, June Lake, and Lee Vining communities.

The remaining eleven Special Districts in both the unincorporated County and the Town of Mammoth Lakes will be completed via a contract with Bauer Planning and Environmental Services, Inc. (BPES, Inc.) and LAFCO staff time (as needed).

  1. Mammoth Community Water District
  2. Mammoth Lakes Fire Protection District
  3. Mammoth Lakes Mosquito Abatement District
  4. Southern Mono Hospital District
  5. Town of Mammoth Lakes
  6. Mammoth Lakes Community Service Area
  7. County Service Area #1
  8. County Service Area #2
  9. County Service Area #5
  10. Countywide CSA
  11. Antelope Valley Water District (LAFCO Staff)