Mono County Local Agency Formation Commission

PO Box 347 Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 760.924.1800, fax 924.1801 commdev@mono.ca.gov PO Box 8 Bridgeport, CA 93517 760.932.5420, fax 932.5431 www.monocounty.ca.gov

May 23, 2018

TO: Mono County LAFCO

FROM: Gerry Le François, Executive Officer

RE: Commission composition, terms, and Special District elections

INFORMATIONAL

Provide any desired direction to staff.

BACKGROUND

The seven-member Commission is made up of two Board of Supervisors members, two Town Council members, two Special District members, one public member, and alternate members (GC § 56325). The Board of Supervisors and Town Council members are appointed by their respective entities. The two Special District members are chosen by nomination, mailed ballot, and voting by each Special District. The public member is chosen by the LAFCO Commission.

The roster of Commissioners and their respective terms is attached. Government Code section 56334 states:

The term of office of each member shall be four years and until the appointment and qualification of his or her successor.

Appointments from the Town of Mammoth most likely will happen after the June 5 General Election. Mono Supervisors memberships remain in effect the 2018 calendar year. Staff is currently preparing a call for nominations for Special District representation via ballot.

ATTACHMENT

LAFCO roster