

MEDIA CONTACT: Justin Caporusso/Caporusso Communications justin@caporussocommunications.com (916) 412-0571

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Mono County Board of Supervisors Recognizes Paul McFarland as 2022 Community Spirit Award Winner

**MONO COUNTY, Calif. (JANUARY 10, 2023)** – Earlier today, the Mono County Board of Supervisors adopted a Proclamation recognizing Paul McFarland with the third annual Mono County Community Spirit Award. As outgoing Chair, Supervisor Bob Gardner (District 3) selected Mr. McFarland for his outstanding devotion and commitment to his community and to Mono County.

"Paul has a great sense of humor with an exuberant laugh, and is well known for his wise advice and general knowledge," said Supervisor Gardner. "Paul believes and constantly shows through his actions how we can support our recreation economy, yet also take care and respect our public lands."

Mr. McFarland was recognized for his service, and caring attitude and actions in the Mono Basin and Mono County. Mr. McFarland has held numerous volunteer and other roles within his community, including serving in leadership positions with the Lee Vining Fire Department, the Lee Vining Public Utilities District, and the Mono Basin Regional Planning Advisory Commission.

In addition, Mr. McFarland has played a critical role in establishing the DeChambeau Creek Foundation, which has quickly become an important source of financial support for Mono Basin public lands and community needs, and was the spark behind the "Camp Like a Pro" initiative, which raised awareness and private contributions to support several projects aimed at improving dispersed camping in Mono County.

"It's a humbling honor to be chosen for this recognition from among the many people making our communities work every day," said Mr. McFarland on receiving the Mono County Community Spirit Award. "Since kindness is contagious, maybe we can work on creating a more productive pandemic in this new year."

The Community Spirit Award was launched in 2021 by former Supervisor Stacy Corless following her tenure as Chair. The award celebrates local individuals who took initiative to do something beneficial for their community in the most difficult times. Previous Community Spirit Award recipients include the Mountain View Fire Volunteers (2020) and Juliana Olinka Jones (2021).

-###-